top of page

Good Night Moon and Other Tales

Updated: Mar 9, 2023

Guest blog by Shona Chambers, Self Employed Club


When my son was born, 12 years ago I couldn’t wait to start reading with him. I loved books as a child, and have carried that on as an adult. So reading with my child was something I was really looking forward to.


In my new mum hospital gift pack there was a book token among all samples for nappy cream, and formula. As soon as he was old enough to start going out and about we went on a long walk to investigate our local independent book shop.


After some browsing at the wonderful Tales on Moon Lane I chose 'Ginger' by Charlotte Voake. It’s a lovely story about a cat who is really happy in his home, until a naughty kitten decides to join the family. At first they are enemies but gradually Ginger welcomes in his new friend.


I can’t tell you how many times I read that with my son, and eventually my daughter. Of all the things I received when I had a new baby, over time the book voucher was the best.


Crimes against books


One of the funniest things that happened with my son and books happened when he was two. I say funny but at the time I was quite upset.


He was at a nursery near my office, and they offered a book club scheme. It wasn’t cheap but I loved ordering new books for him every month and having them delivered.


One month we’d just taken delivery of a lovely toddler backpack full of Peppa Pig books. We read some of them in his room before bed.


The next morning I woke up and saw that he had ripped all of the pages out of one of his books and shoved them into the chimney in his room.


My face must have said it all. I asked my son calmly what he had done. He said ‘ I made a fire like Daddy does’ at the time we lived in a home with an open fire and he had seen his Dad rolling up newspaper to get it started.


After that we were more careful with books.


Libraries are the best


I’ve always been a big fan of our public libraries. I went to rhyme time sessions with both of the children, and always checked out lots of books for them to take home.


I think most children love to look at books and listen to the different rhythms even before they can really understand.


Both of mine have loved The Gruffalo, Doctor Seuss, Harry and the Bucketful of Dinosaurs and lots of others. Anything to do with bottoms or poo usually gets a lot of engagement from children too, mine anyway.


Good Night Moon


I read to my son every night until he was 9 when he started to prefer doing his own thing before bed.


I find the bedtime hour one of the most relaxing times to read with a child. My daughter who is 5 would not consider it bedtime without a story. She started reception in September so we are again in the world of phonics and starter reading books. I try to vary her reading books so they do not feel like more enforced learning. At the moment she loves the Sir Charlie Stinky Socks books, Elmer, and often still Good Night Moon.


Thank you for reading!

Shona


About the Author

Shona Chambers is a Marketing Consultant and founder of Self Employed Club, a networking group for anyone who works for themselves. She recently wrote her first book 100 Marketing Tips for Small Business Owners.


She lives with her husband, son and daughter in south east London.







42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page